About Us

About the Commission

Congress established the World War I Centennial Commission (WWICC) in 2013 to serve as the lead organizer for the nation’s commemoration of World War I, coordinating the activities of thousands of individuals and institutions telling the story of the War that Changed the World, and educating Americans about the accomplishments of the United States in the war.

The World War I Centennial Commission’s charter to Honor, Educate, and Commemorate the US Centennial of World War I is essentially complete. The centennial of the signing of the Versailles Peace Treaty was the last historical event of the commemoration. In accordance with the law that created it, the US World War One Centennial Commission is standing down except for building the National World War I Memorial in Washington, D.C.

To support the World War I “Community of Interest”, continued conversation, and maintenance of the National World War I Memorial in DC, the torch to “keep faith with America’s WORLD WAR I veterans” is being taken up by The Doughboy Foundation.

Our Commissioners

Commissioner Terry Hamby (Chair)

Commissioner Jerry L. Hester

Commissioner Colonel Thomas Moe, USAF (Ret.)

Commissioner Ambassador Theodore “Tod” Sedgwick

Commissioner Dr. Libby O'Connell

Commissioner Monique Brouillet Seefried, Ph.D.

Commissioner Major General Alfred A. Valenzuela, USA (Ret.)

Commissioner Commander Zoe Dunning, USN (Ret.)

Commissioner Debra Anderson

Commissioner John Monahan

Commissioner Dr. Matthew Naylor

Former Commissioners

Commissioner Colonel Robert J. Dalessandro, USA (Ret.) (former Chair)

Commissioner Edwin L. Fountain (former Vice Chair)

Commissioner James S. Whitfield (January 12, 1926–December 6, 2016)

Commissioner James B. Nutter, Sr. (January 23, 1928 – July 7, 2017)

Commissioner John E. Hamilton

Commissioner Ike Skelton (former Chair) (December 20, 1931 – October 28, 2013)

About Our Partners

National Park Service

The National Park Service’s National Mall and Memorial Parks preserves, protects, and interprets the symbolic and monumental civic spaces and commemorative works in the center of the Nation’s Capital that honor American ideals and values, distinguished public figures, and military and civilian sacrifices and contributions. On the National Mall these sites include the Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Thomas Jefferson Memorial, Vietnam Veterans Memorial, Korean War Veterans Memorial, Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial, World War II Memorial, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial. Following its dedication, the World War I Memorial will be added to these important monuments and memorials in our nation’s capital managed by the National Park Service.

American Battle Monuments Commission

The original American Expeditionary Forces Memorial at Pershing Park was erected and dedicated by the American Battle Monuments Commission (ABMC) in 1981. ABMC was created by Congress as a U.S. Government agency with the mission of building and maintaining monuments and memorials to the service of American armed forces overseas, and designing and later maintaining American military cemeteries overseas. ABMC’s first chairman was General John J. Pershing, who served from 1923 until his passing in 1948. He was succeeded by one of his principal staff officers in World War I, then-Colonel (later General) George C. Marshall. Today ABMC maintains 31 American cemeteries overseas, and 31 monuments, memorials and markers around the world, including five in the United States and its territories, commemorating conflicts from the Mexican War of 1848 to the Vietnam War.

As with the American Expeditionary Forces Memorial, ABMC also designed and constructed the World War II Memorial and Korean War Veterans Memorial on the Mall, which were then assumed by the National Park Service for interpretation and maintenance. Upon the re-opening of Pershing Park as the National World War I Memorial, ABMC and NPS will enter a new partnership whereby the two agencies will jointly support maintenance of the memorial in a manner that honors those commemorated here, and the World War I Memorial will become ABMC’s 32nd memorial.

The Doughboy Foundation

The Doughboy Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization which supports and encourages the planning and execution of programs, projects, and activities commemorating and educating the public on America’s role in World War I.

The Doughboy Foundation’s mission is to keep the story of “the War That Changed The World” in the minds of all Americans, so that the 4.7 million who served in the U.S. Armed Forces in WWI will never again be relegated to the mists of obscurity.

The mission objectives are three-fold including: commemorating the experience of the Doughboys, honoring the men and women who served their nation in World War I, and inspiring Americans to continue learning about World War I.

In addition to the regular maintenance of the Memorial supported by the American Battle Monuments Commission and the National Park Service, The Doughboy Foundation in cooperation with these organizations will create a Rapid Repair Response Fund for emergency repairs to the Memorial and will also be responsible for programming at the Memorial.

The Doughboy Foundation encourages private & educational organizations, Federal, State, and local governments, and all individual Americans to Keep Faith with the Doughboys and all those who served in WWI.

Meet Our Donors

The National World War I Memorial in Washington, DC was funded by generous contributions from corporations, foundations, veterans’ groups, allied governments, civic organizations, and thousands of individual Americans. On behalf of the 4.7 million Americans who served in World War I and no longer have a voice; thank you.

Founding Sponsor

Pershing Society


Patton Society

($2,500,000 - $4,999,999)

Lafayette Society

($1,000,000 - $2,499,999)

Doughboy Society

($250,000 - $999,999)

Remembrance Poppy Society

($100,000 - $249,999)

Liberty Bond Society

($10,000 - $99,999)

The Journey Continues…